Dingo

Hi! My Name Is Dingo

We purchased Dingo to be a pet for my son after the loss of our labrador retriever. However, Dingo preferred the company of my mother, who was retired and lived with us. He became her companion dog and spent time with her when my husband, son, and I were out of the house. He's never really bonded with anyone other than my mom. He likes us, but even when we're home, he prefers to be in my mom's room, which he views as his den. When he was about a year old, at Halloween, he was outside and was terrorized, very briefly, by some young boys who were trick-or-treating. Although we were able to intervene in a matter of seconds, it seemed to instill a fear of young children in him and he has never been comfortable around young children. My mom was his person and they loved each other. Unfortunately, my mom passed away and Dingo now spends most of his time alone, as my son has gone to college and my husband and I are not home very much. He does okay on a leash, but isn't well-trained (to heel, etc.). He sometimes barks aggressively at people, but only wants to sniff their feet. He's very friendly after introductions have been made. He has never bitten anyone or shown signs of real aggression. He does not have food aggression. He isn't destructive. He has had extensive dental work and many teeth removed. Other than that, he is in good health for a 13 year old dog. It breaks my heart to surrender him. I just want what is best for him and I don't think we can give that to him. We are struggling financially after the loss of my mom and cannot give him the veterinary care and grooming care that he needs to be healthy and happy. If he was happy and we were able to spend time with him, we could work around the financial part, and if the financial part was okay, we could work around the other part by sending him to doggy day care, but with both issues, we're just not able to give him a good home right now.
  • Spaniel – American Cocker
  • Male
  • Senior (108+ - Months) (10/01/2010)
  • 21 - 30 Pounds
  • Buff / Tan / Fawn
  • Couch Potato
  • I Like Kids Over 10
  • Not Tested With Dogs
  • I Like Some Cats
  • Not Tested With Small Animals
  • I Have Not Been Tested with Livestock
  • I'm Trained
Apply To Adopt Dingo
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Dingo

X